Ink Overview – Pilot Iroshizuku Tsutsuji

pilot iroshizuku tsutsuji hot pink ink red n black paper fountain pen
The full shot of my testing page

 

In this Ink Overview, I’ll be taking a look at a very nice ink from Pilot’s Iroshizuku lineup – Tsutsuji

 

iroshizuku-tsutsuji-3
A close up of the title and swab

 

Tsutsuji means Azalea in Japanese, named after the Azalea flowers that are a beautiful pink color. This ink displays the flower’s color beautifully; the vibrancy makes it feel like you are seeing the color of the pedals in real life.

 

iroshizuku-tsutsuji-1
Some handwritten notes on what I think about the ink

 

As for the properties, the I know is very nicely wet and lubricated, as many inks are. The water resistance is basically non-existent, and its dry time is surprisingly quick, especially given that I tested it with a wet Montblanc nib. There is also a slight sheen that halos around the letters on most papers, but it comes out much more on TR paper.

 

pilot iroshizuku tsutsuji hot pink ink red n black paper fountain pen sheen tomoe river
Close up shot of Tsutsuji sheening on Tomoe River paper

 

As for it’s safety with vintage pens, I would say no. Many japanese pens are alkaline, which can quickly deteriorate sacs and diaphragms. But for a vintage pen that doesn’t use a sac, like a C/C or piston, I’d say go for it.

 

pilot iroshizuku tsutsuji hot pink ink red n black paper fountain pen shading
Close up of the shading test on Tomoe River paper. Here you can see the sheen’s halo effect on the letters

 

This is a fantastic ink for when you’re feeling fun and want to branch out from the inky restrictions placed on you from school or work. The shading also makes this ink very fun to use in stubs and flex pens.

 


 

Hey! Thanks for reading my blog. If you came from my Instagram, Reddit, or somewhere else, please make sure you check out my social media accounts, and follow them (including this blog) if you haven’t already.

Have any questions/comments/concerns? Ask them in the blog comments below!

Also, click the menu if you want to see what other pens and inks I own, or if you want to read more about me.

Also, I’ll be posting bi-weekly now, so hopefully with this new amount of time I can produce some better posts for you all to read. So see you next-next Tuesday, I guess!


 

Leave a comment